Information: MISD Trauma Informed Care Committee

Trauma Informed Care Information

The MISD Trauma Informed Care CommitteeTrauma Informed Care Committee

MISD MISSION: The MISD, in partnership with parents and the community, will create a safe environment where each learner is nurtured to be successful.


A trauma sensitive school is one in which all students feel safe, welcomed and supported and where addressing trauma’s impact on learning on a school-wide basis is at the center of its educational mission.  We recognize that our students and their families are experiencing ever-changing challenges. Adopting a trauma informed model district-wide represents our next step in transforming our buildings into safe and supportive learning environments for all students, including those who have experienced overwhelming hardship. We strive to create a holistic awareness of our students by addressing their mental, physical, and emotional well-being.

Over the past 3 years, MISD has engaged in professional learning through Tanager Place around trauma-informed practices, Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACES), and toxic stress.  As part of the continuous improvement process in MISD, the district developed the Trauma Informed Care Committee (TICC) to support the varied needs of our learners and to build resilience in children.  The TICC includes administrators, teachers and staff from each building, community partners, and most recently parents. With the support of Tanager Place, the committee began in June 2018 with two summer meetings conducting an analysis of current strengths and challenges, and identifying potential needs and action steps.  This information led to the development of 3 subcommittees, each focused on specific goals and outcomes: (1) Professional Development, (2) Outreach and Engagement, and (3) Social Emotional Learning. Throughout the 2018-19 school year the group has met quarterly. The subcommittees have been working toward the goals and outcomes listed below.   


Professional Development Subcommittee

  • Provide a holistic model of professional development opportunities for MISD’s PK-12 educators surrounding trauma-informed practices and systems of care.
  • Align TIC PD opportunities to embed trauma-informed care into PK-12 systems development using identified needs and research-based best practices.
  • Build knowledge capacity to provide professional development and training opportunities from within the district.


Outreach and Engagement Subcommittee

  • Involve our families and the community in our mission to build children up.
  • Survey all students K-12 to determine if they have a trusted adult at school; support those students who do not have one and celebrate the staff who are seen as trusted adults.
  • Increase engagement for families through education, programs and activities.
  • Provide increased after school opportunities for students with lack of involvement.
  • Build on existing business/community relationships to provide confidence, direction and mentorship for future employment.


Social Emotional Learning Subcommittee

  • Select a Social Emotional Learning (SEL) curriculum for all students PK-12 for the 2019-20 school year.
  • Develop a mentoring program for all students K-12.


The TICC will continue the work in the upcoming years.  If you have an interest in being a part of the TICC and/or in learning more you are encouraged to reach out to your building principal or one of the committee members listed below.  



Administrators– Chris Dyer, Janelle Brouwer, Annette Maier, Nicole Harmer, Mike Murphy, Kat Bevins, Phil Cochran, Greg Semler, Chad Zrudsky, Tom Ertz

Counselors- Kelli Johnson, Jamie Shields, Michelle Thomason, Emma Ambrose, Ann Grant, Tom Kettmann

Teachers- Amanda Weeks, Sandee Wolfe-Kerker, Amanda Freese, Erica Miller, Chelsea Albright

School Nurse- Nancy Alderdyce

School Social Worker- Michelle Wilson

Food Service, Custodial, Transportation, Associate, Secretarial- Jordan Alderdyce, Bob Scott, Shelly Fowler, Krista Dooley

School Resource Officer- Brian Davis

Tanager Place- Tonya Hotchkin, Tawny Schafbuch, Ashley Hart, Katherine Parker

Area Substance Abuse Council- Amy Doerrfeld

Grant Wood AEA- Jill Weigel, Bethany Votroubek, Maggie Arnold, Katy Lee, Tammy McSweeney

Foundation 2- Amanda Leemhuis

Parents (starting Mar. 2019)- Coya Clayton, Kamila DeMuth, Starlet Smith